Explore the Science reviews behind our work

In our Science Reviews, you will find detailed background information about lifestyle factors and chemicals that may be linked to breast cancer. All of our content has been created utilising evidence from credible sources, such as scientific publications, reports and regulations from governmental bodies. Whilst Breast Cancer UK does not support the use of animals in our funded research, some of the sources utilised within our Science Reviews have drawn upon animal-derived datasets. All of our Science Reviews are peer-reviewed by 2 members of our independent Science Panel. We hold PIF TICK accreditation certifying the quality of our health information and processes.

 

Science review grey and orange box

HRT, Menopause and breast cancer

February 2024|Size: 617.98 KB |

This review highlights the evidence between HRT (Hormone Replacement Therapy) used to treat menopause symptoms and breast cancer risk.
  • Background Briefings
  • Science
Science review grey and orange box

PFAS and breast cancer

January 2024|Size: 1.23 MB |

This review highlights the links between PFAS (perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances) and breast cancer.
  • Background Briefings
  • Science
Science review grey and orange box

Critical windows of susceptibility for breast development

December 2023|Size: 1,007.99 KB |

This review highlights critical windows of susceptibility for breast development to help you reduce your risk of breast cancer.
  • Background Briefings
  • Science
Science review grey and orange box

Fibre, the gut microbiome and breast cancer

May 2023|Size: 3.47 MB |

This review summarises recent studies on the links between a diet rich in fibre and breast cancer.
  • Background Briefings
  • Science
Science review grey and orange box

Bisphenols and breast cancer

November 2022|Size: 5.47 MB |

This review summarises recent studies on the links between exposure to bisphenols and breast cancer, including where they are found, how we are exposed, and their actions in the body.
  • Background Briefings
  • Science
Science review grey and orange box

Vitamin D and breast cancer

May 2022|Size: 620.86 KB |

This review summarises recent studies on the links between low levels of circulating vitamin D and breast cancer and explains if taking vitamin D supplements is protective against breast cancer.
  • Background Briefings
  • Science
Science review grey and orange box

Breast cancer in men briefing

December 2021|Size: 368.44 KB |

This review summarises the major characteristics of breast cancer in men, including incidence, risk factors, and treatment.
  • Background Briefings
  • Science
Science review grey and orange box

Pesticides, organic food and breast cancer briefing

July 2021|Size: 484.99 KB |

This review summarises recent studies on the links between pesticides exposure and breast cancer and explains if an organic diet is protective against breast cancer.
  • Background Briefings
  • Science
Science review grey and orange box

Alcohol and breast cancer briefing

July 2021|Size: 308.89 KB |

Drinking alcoholic beverages increases the risk of breast cancer in women and heavy drinking increases risk in men.
  • Background Briefings
  • Science
Science review grey and orange box

Physical activity and breast cancer briefing

October 2020|Size: 1.75 MB |

Physical activity reduces the risk of breast cancer, breast cancer recurrence, and mortality following a breast cancer diagnosis.
  • Background Briefings
  • Science
Science review grey and orange box

Diet

January 2020|Size: 5.13 MB |

There is no ideal diet that will prevent breast cancer. However, a high consumption of fruit and vegetables, sufficient dietary calcium and low alcohol consumption can reduce risk.
  • Background Briefings
Science review grey and orange box

Aluminium Salts as Antiperspirants

September 2019|Size: 1.03 MB |

The use of aluminium salts in antiperspirants has caused debate amongst scientists. Some say their use may increase breast cancer risk; others say there’s insufficient evidence to prove any link.
  • Background Briefings

Watch our webinars about EDCs

Note: YouTube may show ads and 3rd party content not endorsed by Breast Cancer UK